SEVERAL YEARS AGO I HAD BOUGHT

at the shoe shop Van Haren a pair of flower patterned shoes. I loved them but although at first they stayed pretty and clean after some months they quickly deteriorated being made of cotton. I often looked into the shop where I had bought them whenever I came near it but to no avail. Neither did I see similar ones in another shop.
To my big surprise I saw in a shoeshop in Amsterdam last time I was there two different flower patterned shoes: gympies as we call them in Holland.
I went in and bought one pair of each. For the near future I would not have a lack of flowered shoes at all.
Coming home I put them in a closet, thinking that when Mischa would come home from her Stockholm journey she would see them and perhaps would like to have one pair. If necessary I could buy another pair for her.
On the day of our travel back to The Hague we had suddenly some spare time caused by the delay of our ICE train (coming from Frankfurt am Main).
Walking the covered shops at the railwaystation in Duisburg I saw there again flower patterned shoes and one quick moment I thought I can buy here a pair for Mischa, or two pairs. I phoned her immediately and asked if she had seen my new shoes in the closet and if she would like to have some too, and what size would fit.
I bought two pairs, they were not expensive and even less than the pairs I had bought in Amsterdam.
Well what a lovely sight to see all the shoes together and Mischa still house bound because of her ankle makes her blip of them today. A lovely coloured flower blip!

My haiku:

Did the fly whisper
Her song softly sorrow or
Joy comes over me

And the proverb:

What turn the matter takes,
I deem it all but ducks and drakes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.