tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Now where was I?

I spent a damp couple of hours photographing some of the street names around my town, something I've been meaning to do for a while. 

Some years ago I was dismayed when the sign for an old foot way was removed from a wall, perhaps  because someone took a fancy to it, or maybe they can be sold to collectors. Many of them disappear in the course of redevelopment, rebuilding or renovation and the  replacements are usually made of some kind of plastic composition, employing a less attractive font. 

Pembrokeshire Welsh is a law of its own and is  heavily infused with English to boot. Some of these names are peculiar to the county. Parc , Anglicised here as Park, is a field or enclosure; gongol means corner. Feidr Gongol/Corner Way ,is  familiarly known as Y Gongol, The Corner, just as Wallis Crescent lies in the part of town known as The Wallis.
I've explained Y Wesh  before and likewise the old  Ropewalk in previous blips. A French etymology has been mooted for the name Hottipass: haut pas meaning  high passage or walkway (although for me it brings to mind the image two people  sharing a single hot water bottle in a cold bed.)

Unless you live in a conservation area I'd strongly recommend if you have old signage in your own patch to photograph it  - once it's gone it's gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.