aylinozpinarr

By aylinozpinarr

Let The Light Enter

"The dying words of Goethe."


"Light! more light! the shadows deepen, 
And my life is ebbing low, 
Throw the windows widely open: 
Light! more light! before I go. 

"Softly let the balmy sunshine 
Play around my dying bed, 
E'er the dimly lighted valley 
I with lonely feet must tread. 

"Light! more light! for Death is weaving 
Shadows 'round my waning sight, 
And I fain would gaze upon him 
Through a stream of earthly light." 

Not for greater gifts of genius; 
Not for thoughts more grandly bright, 
All the dying poet whispers 
Is a prayer for light, more light. 

Heeds he not the gathered laurels, 
Fading slowly from his sight; 
All the poet's aspirations 
Centre in that prayer for light. 

Gracious Saviour, when life's day-dreams 
Melt and vanish from the sight, 
May our dim and longing vision 
Then be blessed with light, more light. 
-Frances Ellen Watkins Harper

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.