Wild Wednesday ....

Riding piggy froggy back. 

I started the day by going to Housenick Park to see if the Eastern Bluebirds were still there .... they weren't!  Well, at least I didn't see any!

From there I went up to Jacobsburg State Park.  As I was approaching the frog pond I heard what I thought were ducks.  But as I got closer I could see (and hear!) that the noise was coming from the frogs! This surprised me in two ways: 1. I was surprised that the frogs were up out of their winter mud so early in the year, and 2. I was surprised that they ALL were croaking up a storm!  We have never heard them croaking quite like this.  There had to be at least 20-30 frogs simply floating on the surface of the pond.  And there were probably twice as many tadpoles in the water!  It's going to be a banner year for the Jacobsburg frogs!

After spending some time with the frogs I went to the bird blind that's a very short walk from the pond.  I had some peanuts and mealworms with me and I put these out on the feeding platform.  I then ducked back behind the blind and waited for the birds to come back.  I didn't have to wait long before the beautiful Tufted Titmouse in my extra showed up for his/her peanuts. (I checked on All About Birds to identify this as male or female but the pictures they have on their website don't identify them either way!  Maybe there is no way to tell the difference!  It's a mystery!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.