NextSteps

By LynnH

Plea to dog owners

While I am a qualified dog groomer and trainer, it is not my main job anymore. However I do still have some regulars who are my little buddies and I love keeping them in trim.

I was asked by one of my owners if I could sort out her friends little working cocker.

This poor dog was 6 yrs old and had never been combed or brushed. Luckily she had a short coat, but all her feathers, paws and bottom had matts hanging in dreadlocks.

The worse part was her ears. The matts in the photo had fastened her ears down to her head. It took me 20 mins to carefully free each ear - I was struggling even with my shortest blade.

Her skin underneath was very sore and smelly. A dog regulates its temperature through its skin so any matted fur will stop the air passing through and create an infection or at worse the dog will overheat.

I'm on my soap box, but please if you know of anyone who has a dog that has matts, tell them to get it to a reputable groomer.

Sorry for the rant, but it is so simple to comb or brush your dog - if they won't let you, find a groomer or trainer that can help you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.