Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Culture

an artist's studio
its stone walls a blank canvas
for candid portraits

An active day this Wednesday: lunch with Cyrille, then a photo exhibition (Koudelka) and a documentary film about David Lynch's youth and formative years.

The photo exhibition was in Beaubourg's Pompidou Museum. Outside the museum is a reconstruction of Brancusi's studio. I visited it in 2003 or 2004 and was amazed. Its stone walls stood before me as I came out of the cinema (I recommend the documentary if you're interested by David Lynch's work) and, still immersed in what I'd just seen, saw them as a blank canvas... I only had to wait a few seconds before the first subject walked into the frame.

You can see the whole "Brancusi series", as well as other photos I took during the day, here: https://flickr.com/photos/8929419@N06/sets/72157681195296585

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.