SmartYin

By SmartYin

Another suitcase in another hall

In the exciting town of Kaliningrad (not). Well, I am here, bit it's not exciting from what I've seen.

However I did have a pleasant evening. Taken to an Italian restaurant by work colleagues and then deposited back at the hotel. Ayer dressing worth a few emails, I decided to go out and see what the local hostelries had to offer.

First up was a bar restaurant cum brewery, which did a very passable wheat beer. However this was not what I was looking for, I wanted a craft bar, and I found that in the shape of Место силы, a small craft beer bar. Not only was I welcomed by the five locals sitting at the bar, they made space and asked my to sit amongst them. After an hour or so if pleasant chat, the bar was about to close and I was given a bottle of Russian imperial stout. I was not allowed time refuse out, bit the challenge is I can't drink it tonight and I fly tomorrow. Maybe I'll drink out at the airport. But the moral of this story, when you travel, drink where the locals drink and you will make friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.