Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Finally -getting after the Sn3 track

I took off exercising today and got an early start on the mis-aleigned track at the swing bridge. The blip is from the worst spot where somehow I had a bump in the track and the locos shorted when crossing the gap. So I cutt out the old track and cut a new piece. Then carefully scrapped out the base a little to lower the track. It is now glued in place and tomorrow I will ballast it to really secure the track. Whew.

The extra picture is another fix. When I built the layout, somehow I left a very small kink in this curve on the other side of the swing bridge. Nothing much happened, but every time my passenger cars went over at least one derailed. On close examination, I found that I had introduced a much sharper (relatively) curve in the middle. What to do? Then I remembered that the glue I use to hold the track and ballast can be dissolved with 70% isopropyl alcohol. After soaking the section and waiting about 10 minutes, the shop vac and a dental pick made short work of the glue and ballast. I then cut out a small amount of both rails in the middle with my dremal tool, and that gave me enough play to fix the curve. It is now glued down and awaiting ballast tomorrow.

Next up is the two track joints on the other side of the swing bridge, but these should be way easier-I hope. I am anxious to clean al the track and start operations. It has been too long with no SN3 trains running.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.