The Brienenoord

Taken on the way home.  As you can see, not much of a jam but maybe that was because I managed to leave before it began, plus the weather was fabulous.  As for the bridge, I have secret plans to climb it one day.  It will be dangerous and illegal, naturally.  I"ll probably be incarcerated, fined, given 360 hours for community service, and fired from my job.

Went to work, worked, went back home.  My schedule wasn't all that full, so I thought I could get a lot done.  I ended up spending about 1.5 hours mediating between the Economics teacher and my second-year homeroom class.  Without really telling him outright, I found myself taking the side of my class.  They aren't exactly angels, but he has always had the capacity to simultaneously annoy and bore his students so that they end up losing attention.  When I wanted a moment to talk to the group, he insisted on hanging around and giving them a sermon, the logic of which even I couldn't grasp.  The moment he left, I heard their side of the story.  Adding that to what I've heard from students over the years, I recognized the problem right away.  Instead of gossiping about him behind his back, however, I instead encouraged them to think of how they could solve the problem.  As a coach, I'm not exactly supposed to give all the answers.  In the end, they decided that it could be an idea to attend the classes given by another professor.  They'll tell me later if they did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.