Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

Unraveled

This ball of acrylic wool represents all those wasted hours of doing things that really could wait.

A few nights ago, I started a new ball of wool for my latest project. Not finding an end easily on the outside, I employed the trick of delving into the guts of the ball which usually results in an easily unwinding yarn, from the inside to the outer edge. Not so with this one. I pulled out a knot of tangled, slightly felted, yarn, and I suspect that the acrylic nature of the cheap yarn was one of the reasons why it happened - and so began hours and hours of untangling.
I had gone so far that giving up was no longer an option, so I took it everywhere I went to tackle another few meters of knots and twists. All the way through Miss C's netball game, I teased and untwisted, after dinner, and in the end, way into the wee small hours, I diligently worked to create this ball of yarn. In the meantime, two lenten study sessions, 4 weeks of prayers, preparations for meetings and this week's sermon prep were neglected.
So I need to use this ball to remember how easily one is side tracked and NOT complain to others about being too busy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.