Birdday/Thursday

1 peregrine falcon
2 bald eagles (on 2 different nests)
2 kestrels
2 bluebirds
2 meadowlarks (first ever)
1 northern harrier (first ever!)

After running errands I stopped at the bluebird spot which is on my usual hawk loop. Behind the little stand of trees is a huge field and behind that are newly built eyesores - massive warehouses. As I was taking pictures of the bluebirds I kept seeing a hawk fly across the field. At first I thought it was a red tail, but it had a large white spot on the back of its tail. Before I left I drove up to the turnaround and it flew right over me, and then dropped down to grab something. It was amazing! When I got home and looked it up, I couldn't believe that I had seen a harrier.
And then while I was watching him hunt I saw two yellow birds in the field that turned out to be meadowlarks.
I hope that this field isn't destined for warehouses, as it is clearly my new favorite spot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.