Cailleach

By Cailleach

In the Pink.....

I am fortunate to be blessed with an excellent constitution, as is my wee brother (the real one I mean - not Mr CBL!), who lives in Spain.

He, however, worries about his health constantly. A minor headache is a tumour, a slight cough is bronchitis, a twinge in his knee is osteo-arthritis....he's ridiculous.

When he moved abroad, the first thing he did, was to have his notes sent over to his Spanish GP, and then book a full medical (even though he'd had one about a month before, in Scotland!)

It took an entire day, during which the doctor listened patiently to every (imagined) symptom and self-diagnosis. At the end of it, the wee brother said, 'You must think I'm an awful hypochondriac!'

The medic smiled (as the brother wrote out a large cheque), 'I don't think you're a hypochondriac at all sir.' He tapped John's extensive medical file, spread out on the desk before him.

'I know you are - it says so in your notes.....'









Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.