Fun with Wigwams at Childhood's Gate

It was a spectacularly beautiful morning, with bright sunshine and blue skies with nary a cloud in sight.

I visited the Arboretum to take some pictures, and I found myself fascinated by the shadows cast by the wigwams in the children's garden.

To capture this scene, I was hunkered down inside the one wigwam, and I could see my wigwam's shadow-self cast in front of me.

It almost reminded me of the Spirograph pictures we made as children (yes, I still have my Spirograph set).

I was pleased by how the sweet, arcing lines of my wigwam were echoed in the other wigwam, as well as the pretty little Glass House.

When it all comes right down to it, it's all about the beautiful light . . . and the lines, lines, lines.

The soundtrack is the song I Walk the Line. Here are two versions by the guy who wrote it: a younger and a somewhat older Johnny Cash. I'm also including a wonderful cover performed by Travis Tritt and Marty Stuart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.