Musings

By Mumma

Looking up and dodging free hugs.

Back in town for a quick snatch and grab mission, but I took time to look up, and be thankful that someone had put effort into prettyfying their windows with a bit of detailing to please a passerby like me.

There were some people standing spread out at a busy junction shouting 'free hugs' at the passing crowds. They had 'free hugs' t-shirts on and signs up. I was suspicious that they might be promoting something, because they had spread out and made themselves very hard to avoid, but as I was born lacking the touchy feely gene I made my way behind benches and bins and managed it. Then I wondered why you would spend your Saturday doing such a thing, and thought that maybe you would do it to get hugged, maybe hugs would be short in your life. I started to feel a bit mean spirited... but I will have to accept that about myself as I can find it difficult to hug friends and loved ones, the thought of hugging a stranger appalls me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.