Big Hill

By bighill

Fireweed!

One of the things I miss about Ontario is the Milkweed! Not only does it do that amazing pink and funky flower, with a wonderful aroma, in the early spring summer, but then those amazing pods appear, and then the internal fluffy seeds fly all over the place, like tiny dancing fairies! I love them!

So I was pretty happy to find that the fireweed does that gossamer floating fairy stuff.....and at the end of each summer i've tried to capture their essence. Not an easy thing to do and so far i have been unsuccessful! until today....i managed to get down by the pond, with the light just lowering in the sky and there was hardly any wind! just enough to sway them gently! I'm pretty happy with this one - mind you i took about 70!

It's been an interesting day! started with our friend Scott coming over for a good long meditation session...we usually do a 20 minute sit most mornings...but sundays we do 20-10-20.....sit, walk, sit! then coffee and the delicious zucchini walnut muffins i made!

I've spent the rest of the afternoon in my office trying to acquaint myself with soft pastels. Frustrating, difficult - but exciting and challenging! spent quite a bit of that time reading, and watching videos on how to create certain effects!

wine time!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.