Death, the life story

By Alifestory

Shadows

Still reeling from a drama I didn't fully understand which featured my normally (at least outside the house) mild-mannered mother yelling uncontrollably at the head teacher about the shame caused by the label pinned to my jumper on my first day at school, 'has fits', I made my way innocently to the toilets.

I did not fully understand the nuance of what my mother had been yelling but I'd picked up something about public humiliation, something about discretion being the better part of valour (or Valerie - which my father always said), and something about how my mother assumed that the other children could actually read, this being a school where education occasionally happened?

"It's probably already too late!  You've probably made a laughing stock of my child." I'd looked at my mother in awe: I didn't remember her standing up for me in quite this fashion before although I was concerned that she was making the kind of first impression that wouldn't serve me well in the long-term.

I was thinking this as I entered the toilets.  This was 1970, and Constable Street Primary School was an old Victorian building with a few utilitarian 1960s addition.  The main feature of the playground was the wall wrapped around the infant building. Babbapapa and Babbamama had been painted on one wall in garish pinks and black.  Also, the entrance to the toilets was outside built in stone, it curved round, and, from memory, a single light served half a dozen stalls. It was cold.  And it was not a place for the faint hearted: the shadows danced along the walls.

I have an older brother and an older sister so I did possess a general awareness of threat: when you're the youngest (as I was then) you tend to keep your eyes peeled, have a sense of something imminent that follows you around, a menance,  and you tend to be on the lookout for the demands coming down the line to you (I had, cleverly, adopted two tactics to avoid doing things: pretend I couldn't do it OR cry and run away.  I had major successes with both approaches.)

It was dark in the toilets and I knew, immediately, that I was in trouble.  Three girls appeared.  One was a girl called Wiggy: I didn't know that then, I just knew she was wearing a blue knitted bonnet that was really too small for her head which from the angle I was looking at her, made it seem unnaturally small.   There was not a trace of hair on her head. She was also very tall. The other two were Hilton girls: one of them, Kim, was stocky - and I knew instinctively, as birds know the moments before the sun rises, that she was to be feared, that she was to be avoided. Like the plague.

You can read the rest here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.