Penguin Droppings

By gen2

My 2000th Blip!

I Do Not Believe It!

Can it really be my 2000th Blip? If so, it means I have wasted spent around 2000 x 2hrs = 4000 hours blipping since January 2011. When I started, I thought I'd be lucky to manage 365. In fact 'life' (and death) have conspired to interrupt me so in all that time, I only managed one set of 365 consecutive blips.

Has it been worth it?  Yes.

I joined mainly for the photographic element of the journal and having to capture a daily Blip has forced me out in all weathers and as a result I have hundreds of images that I would otherwise not have taken.

The challenge has meant that that I have frequently been forced to be creative with just a handful of flat, dull captures.  As a result, I have hugely developed my editing skills (in GIMP), but sometimes, even then, the result does not come up to expectations.

I have thoroughly enjoyed the experience and come into contact with a number of wonderful people in the process though I have only met two Blippers in real life.

It is great that many of you regularly follow my journal and your comments and awards are appreciated. It is good to get feedback on each day's result.  Thank you.


I will continue Blipping and the emphasis will, as always, be on the photograph, so don't expect any long screeds of typing or insights into my family or personal life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.