Dexter the Lap Cat

Our Tabbycat Dexter is a lap cat, but only in the winter time. When we have cold weather, he often seeks out a lap. In warmer weather, never . . .

We've had some very cold weather lately, and so this was the scene at our house on this day after dinner. My husband sat down in my chair to read a book (funny how my chair is a favorite in our house), and the cat promptly sat on him.

I went for my camera to document the scene, of course. And as I approached him, Dexter gave me what I imagined to be a slightly reproachful look. He was happy right where he was, and he certainly did not want to be moved!

Dexter is a big boy, and the record for holding him on one's lap is under 30 minutes. Eventually, your legs fall asleep, and that makes it nearly impossible to get up. So it's best to know your limits.

The procedure for dismounting: wrap cat in purple blanket, stand up, place cat gently on chair, and cover him loosely with a second blanket so that he may spend the rest of the evening napping peacefully on the chair.

The soundtrack tune: Ladysmith Black Mombazo and the Mint Juleps, with The Lion Sleeps Tonight. I'm including a fun second, a capella, version by Konyr Dauys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.