When the going gets weird

By Slybacon

Explosions in the sky

So on Friday I got an email from Blip HQ. They liked my speed of light blip and asked if I'd like a pass to go to take pictures of the festival fireworks. This of course was a no brainer, so I jumped at the chance.

As well as a pass to the gardens, they set up a visit to the castle in the afternoon to see the preperations behind the scenes. I've never seen so many explosives and wires in my life!

Despite being a life long Edinburgh resident, I've never in my 33 years been to see the fireworks from Princess Street gardens. It great to see/hear the full effect for a change, as when you listen to it on the radio from Arthur's seat there's a bit of a delay. It's pretty mind blowing.

Photography wise, it was quite a challenge. Never tried taking shots of fireworks before. It was a bit breezey, so a lot of the shots seemed a bit streaky but I had a few I quite liked. Learned some new things and hopefully I'll get better ones in future.

Thanks a lot to Blip for giving me this opportunity and hello to Brian (Gingercatpix) the other Blipper who was there, lovely to meet you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.