Grave

Mr Dave and myself took a slight detour on the way to the gig in order to visit Atherstone, where I suspected a number of my ancestors might be buried. No doing in Atherstone itself (the church has no graveyard at all) but we proceeded to an ancient suburb called Mancetter, which turned out to have a beautiful and ancient manor house beside the church and a selection of the most legible ancient gravestones I've ever seen. I did find some potential relatives, but the inscription that really got our attention was this one, which I transcribe in case you can't read it all:

HERE lieth Interr'd
the Bodys of

I
H.I.M
what Er'e we was or am
it Matters not.
To whome related

or by whome begott.
Ask no more of me.
Tis all we are
And all that you must be.

After absorbing this we did quite a successful gig to finish up our wee tour. My old pal Rachel from the OU turned up - it was lovely to see her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.