Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Hanoi Bike Shop

We had lunch here today - an eatery I've been meaning to visit for well over a year now. Great food - more Vietnamese than we actually ate in Vietnam, where we were well-warned against venturing to eat street food on our own. As far as I can recall, this is where we came in another life to try out the newly-opened Ubiquitous Chip, the restaurant now housed on the other side of Byres Road in Ashton Lane; I've not been here for years. 

It was a good feeling to return, even briefly, to the road I used to consider the centre of my universe, with my old school just up the road and my university even closer. We used to say that if you went to Byres Road at any time of day we'd be sure to meet someone we knew - though in fact it was in the St Enoch Centre that we were seized by a singing  friend that we've not seen since the early 90s. 

Ruthven Lane, where this photo was taken, is fascinating - my extra picture is of another old building, now The Bothy restaurant, which lies just behind me as I took this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.