Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Donald Roy Beardall, RCAF, WWII

The Find-a-Grave website is a fascinating place. It is loaded with photos and bios of the dead - famous, semi-famous, interesting, and a few infuriating characters. Lots of nobodies to most but cherished to some. Years ago, I posted a photo of the grave of Robert the Bruce's heart at Melrose Abbey in Scotland. I've been meaning to post more but have never done so until today. Since Linda and I were doing some flower planting and maintenance at her father's and mother's graves in Prospect and Park Lawn cemeteries, respectively, I volunteered to look up a request or two to see what I could find. Linda helped seek them out.

There were two requests for Park Lawn Cemetery and a couple of dozen for Prospect Cemetery. For today, due to time constraints, I selected one from each cemetery that also had plot addresses. Even then it took about 10 minutes to find the marked plot blipped today and a half hour to find the unmarked plot I will upload to Find-a-Grave, momentarily. Friends and family can post requests for volunteer finders like me to look up when we have some time in the area. I think it's a cool idea and gives answers, comfort, and perhaps some closure to those who may be too far, too infirm, or otherwise unable to see the grave in person. Once photos and captions are posted, an e-mail is sent to the requester. I'm curious to hear from him (or her) soon.

Pilot Officer Donald Roy Beardall was a member of the Royal Canadian Air Force. It seems he was killed in action during World War II. I have no other details, unfortunately. He was only 19 years old and if the grave marker of his parents covers the entire family, he was their only child. How sad.

Several days worth of back-blips posted. Do have a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.