GracieG

By GracieG

A bucket of Toads

M and I worked a two hour shift volunteering with Toad Patrol, in the village of Hempstead tonight.
http://toadwatch.org/  
It was a misty evening, although not cold, and as dusk fell we were treated to the sounds of a song thrush singing his repeated phrases close by.  This was followed by a tawny owl hooting and the local church bells being rung...just magic!
M and I rescued 214 toads, and 13 frogs, although sadly there were 4 casualties as we couldn't get them off the road in time.  The couple who took the next shift rescued another 90 toads. When they are in the bucket waiting to be let loose in the pond, they make little squeaky noises, which when you have a number becomes quite loud.

I apologise for the awful quality of this photo, but I had to use my rather poor camera phone and the little fellows would not keep still!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.