all done - and all that jazz

Walls painted; tick
new flooring laid; tick
skirting board fitted; tick
internet, phone and hive reconnected; tick

We’re a good team, Anniemay, Lee and me.  Lee measures the floorboards and marks them up for cutting.  Anniemay carries them into the garage where I’m waiting, revving up the chop saw, to chop the planks to length.  She then carries them back to Lee who deftly fits them and marks up the next one.

When the floor is laid, the same happens with the skirting boards.  Mark, chop and fit.

We’re so efficient that we should do this room in a couple of hours, but it takes much longer.  

Lee is a wonderful musician.  He was a musician in the Royal Marines when he was younger (more here) and became a member of the Queen Mother’s own ‘private’ jazz band.  His dream now is to run his own ‘big’ band.  So we spend about hour talking through how he might achieve this.  

We work some more and then - to make a point - I have go and dig out an old Buddy Rich LP from the 1960s.  Another hour passes.  

In spite of the musical interludes I found this little project much harder than our previous endeavours.  I will pay for it tomorrow.  When we finish Anniemay goes off to the gym and yoga and I relax in the bath.  I have to force myself not to fall asleep and force myself to write this blip.  Zzzzzzzzzzz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.