a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

Giddy

Absolutely no sleep again, so I gave up, crawled out of bed and headed off to work at some obscenely early pre-dawn hour with lots of loud bouncy (pre-millenium) music pouring into my earbuds to rev me up a bit.

The problem with this strategy is that, while it often works (in combination with masses of caffeine etc), when you are giddy from lack of sleep you aren't functioning terribly well. Under normal circumstances this wouldn't have mattered, but one of the guys from work decided to also come in early (i.e 7.30 am, a full hour before I could reasonably expect another human being to show up).

So when the poor lad walked through the door I had the speakers cranked up to maximum and was long past vocal warm-up and on to the main performance, complete with bashing an imaginary tambourine on my hip whilst in full-throated roar. Don't ask me why I had a tambourine going on, because none of the music I was playing would have been seen dead with that instrument in their ensemble.

Frankly, I'm not sure which of us was the more embarrassed. I then had two options: kill him; or pretend nobody saw anything. Then I realised it would have to be the latter, because blood would be hell to get out of the carpet.

Started to crash and burn in the afternoon, so by the end of the day all I was fit for was rummaging in my desk drawer to see what I could blip. This turned out to be a toy marmot (which yodels when you press its flank) binging on the grappa shots that I keep for emergencies. (Because marmots are well known for their alcoholic tendencies. Apparently.) My boss was standing there watching me as I hunkered down and eyed off the marmot, circled a bit to the left and took a photo... and then he shook his head and vamoosed in a hurry. Wise man.

Still haven't caught up on everybody's journals...but I'm making headway!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.