Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

The first bumblebee of Spring

What a lovely day! We had 15C here and the sun was warm on our backs as Pepper and I did a little light weeding.
Several years ago I rather impetuously sowed a few butterburr seed at the end of the garden, planning that my bees should feed on the flowers in early spring. The plants have been spreading vigourously and have the most enormous leaves like umbrellas. You might almost say like weeds...
We went down to view them this afternoon and yes, the honeybees were busy nectaring.
Then I heard a bumbling buzz and there was a Tree Bumblebee. You can see her proboscis, and the empty pollen sack on her hind leg, so these flowers are obviously no good for pollen.
She has quite a worn back after hibernating from last autumn, and many parasitic mites.
I hope she manages to get her brood started, it must be quite a struggle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.