mydayblipped

By mydayblipped

Soup and Sweet

Well no fancy photo today but this so portrays my day :)

Woke up with the alarm whilst still having a really odd dream...Dreamt that I had to get a section of hair attached to the end of my little toe. When I asked what the hair would do, the dentist told me it would protect my teeth. Eh??

Then once I was fully awake I realised I ached. Fitting kitchen flooring is not gentle on the body I guess

Today is a lovely sunny day and I am now beginning to realise, when I look for what to photograph for blip, that I spend a lot of time at home. I don't know if this is a good thing or a bad thing.

But whilst doing the weekly food shop, I decided that I was going to make soup for lunch and bake some white chocolate and cranberry cupcakes (after being inspired by a friend who makes soaps)

I love cooking and baking. My love of food and cooking combined with my love of science is what led me to do my degree in Nutrition. By 3rd year I knew I'd chosen the wrong course. I wanted to do something I loved but in this instance, the mixture just didn't work.

So I made some soup, lentil, carrot, red pepper, onion, garlic and stock cube. I love how easy it is to make soup, just chop up random veg, bung it in a pan with water and boil.

I used to make lots of cakes. I went to a cupcake decorating class a few years ago (getting there was an adventure in itself lol) and got bitten by the baking bug. My kids even suggested last year that I enter The Great British Bakeoff. But since January, whilst I've been trying to lose 3 st (2st down, 1 to go) I have hardly baked at all because baking = eating.

But my soap making friend, this week, made white chocolate and cranberry soap and it looked so good, I wanted to eat it. So that was my inspiration to bake.
I'm a bit disappointed with how they look, I tried a different butter today (half fat..silly silly me!) and so it all went blumph.

But they taste DELICIOUS! I may just have to have another one and forego the healthy eating for today :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.