PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Ran ran!

Somebody really should have told this keel back about the health hazards of inhabiting a bear enclosure!
 
I had every intention of doing a bear blip today - but this story was too funny to pass up! I was looking out over house two at the bears roaming around when one of the bear workers yelled out ran, ran! It took me a few confused looks and then a short game of sharades to realise they were saying snake! I caught him just out of the corner of my eye, swimming around in the bear's pool, before submerging for what seemed like an eternity. So I headed down to ground level, and outside the enclosure as the snake had taken refuge under a large grass clump not far from the perimeter fence.
 
Then along comes Marmite ... completely oblivious to said snake. I started calling her over to us in the vain hope that as she got closer the snake would flush out from his grass clump so I could get a positive ID (and photo!). Marmite decided to follow my calls and slowly plodded over.. by this stage the snake had popped his head out and was having a good look around ... possibly not aware of the incoming bear! I know she certainly had no idea he was there because she walked right over the top of him and proceeded to sit down on him! I'm fairly certain the snake gave her a good bite on the bum because she shot up off the ground looking behind her rather perplexed!

But the end result was desirable with the snake, having 'had enough' and exited the enclosure for me to get a better look at and a few more photos. Even if it did mean Marmite had to 'take one for the team' ;)
 
P.S. No bears or snakes were harmed in the making of this story :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.