Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Hover

Many many thank yous to everyone for sending my moon to the spotlight. Totally thrilled at all the comments and stars!!

The only continent I could not be today is Antarctica as that is the only place you would not find a hover!

At first I thought it was a bee as I balanced my camera on the fence post but closer inspection put this in doubt. On getting the old identification book out and looking back at fellow blippers I soon realised it was a hoverfly of which there are six thousand species. He has two wings and very large eyes whereas a bee has four wings with smaller oval eyes. Thanks to drone fly encore for that snippet!

His body is densely covered in bristles, mimicking bees and wasps. Sitting here on the Ragwort in the field he is feeding on nectar, in the sunshine and loving it - as was I! Some hovers feed on aphids and leaf hoppers so are great for the garden while the larvae feed on decaying plant and animal matter.

View large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.