Rough Passage

The Current Mrs Creel and myself set of for an early morning walk, very well wrapped up.  We had gone about 400 metres when we saw a wall of water coming down Scapa Flow from the north-west.  This turned out to be a hail shower so we turned our backs and sought shelter in the fisherman’s bothy.  We had to linger for a while and we saw this work boat going past - it was taking some big hits and, I’m sure, the crew wouldn’t be having a pleasant time, the vessel was heading for Stromness right into the teeth of it.  Very difficult to hold the camera.

As we made our way home we felt as if we’d dissolved into the landscape.  The anemometer indicated current wind speed of 53 mph, rising to 70 (again) this afternoon.  I went to feed the sheep who had wisely retreated to their hoose.  They requested I put Radio Three on for them. 

I now have my current list of tasks in front of me including, booking a passage for our Shetland trip. 

The Current Mrs Creel will be issuing no further statements.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.