you'd think there was something about to happen

I'm never sure if I like or abhor the pre-bells build-up which takes over the town centre on days such as this one. It would obviously be annoying to have to put in earplugs every day I needed to walk along Princes Street just to prevent ear-damage from the testing of the speaker stacks which were still horribly painful from seventy metres away. At least there was a nice courteous sign at the top of Bank Street advising people to wrap up warmly though if it had continued with "and we mean with proper clothing you already own rather than just one of the stupid overpriced souvenir hats or thin printed T-shirts" it would be better for all concerned. I'd obviously prefer the pavements to not have their width restricted by crowd barriers and to not have to say "excuse me, please..." five times at increasing volume to people walking three abreast in front of me only for them to mutter "you could say excuse me" indignantly when I gave up and skipped past behind a lamp-post. It's also unpleasant to see tourist-people getting ripped off for memory cards in the camera shop though quite pleasant when a refund is given without question nor need for the prepared printouts demonstrating lens-fault and especially when something partially purchased with vouchers is entirely refunded in proper money, even if only because the guy at the till couldn't be bothered with the hassle of splitting up the refund.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.