Fox Alert

The first thing I do whenever I walk in the kitchen is look out the window for wildlife.  Usually it's the birds at the feeder, but once in a while I'm surprised by a hawk or maybe a deer.  This morning it was this beautiful fox.  He was heading up the fence line and making his way to the feeder area.  He wasn't successful in finding his breakfast, but I'm sure he's had a tasty squirrel or mourning dove on other occasions.  This isn't the greatest quality shot, but I had to go with it because it's rare that I have the opportunity.
At first I thought it was a red fox, since his coat has a red tinge, but on further investigation I believe it is a gray fox.  I've seen red foxes in the yard before, with beautiful bushy tails and black stockings.  Debbi, if you see this, maybe you can help me out with the identification.  He also doesn't have a white tipped tail, which I believe is characteristic of the red .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.