What struck my fancy

By TonyLuxton

Loch Lomond

I set off at 05.30 to leave Scotland and head for home, it had been a cold night and even though still dark the impression of fresh snow on the mountain tops was evident,, after a few minutes I passed two manned huge snow ploughs which rather sapped my confidence. There was occasional oncoming traffic but not sporting snow covered car roofs or bonnets (hoods). Some slush on the road at times but not much else, 2 deg C and raining so ice a threat.

After 75 minutes travel I came to Loch Lomond the subject of romantic songs and thought I could see a blip; this is taken at 06.45.

You can listen to "The bonny banks o' Loch Lomond" Here

The folk tune is from 1742 and the lyrics composed in 1745, two men imprisoned by the English in Carlisle jail, the writer is condemned and the souls of Scots dying outside Scotland return to the homeland by a  low road (for spirits). The condemned man writes the words and his confederate is set free and takes the (more usual) high road.

A bit more Here 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.