Resting after!

NEC today for the photo exhibition!!  Ro is having a well earned coffee in the station after.  I really enjoyed it, but not a blipper in sight! ;(  There should be badges so we can recognise each other!!  I spotted all sorts of weird and wonderful characters including Stormtroopers, Gandalf, some aliens(I think), a princess or two  etc..  all converging on the next door exhibition!!

Buying stuff is good as there seems to be a discount on most things of 10 - 20% except food!  Bring your own!  We arrived at the beginning with huge crowds of people and noone even looked at our bags!! It seems you can take your food in.  Check out the internet for a map of the stalls or for a voucher for a free program as it costs £5.  Probably worth it??

I really enjoyed the two live talks we went to: the first by Stephanie Ann Thornton "Creative Styling and live lighting demo".  The computer guys let her down and the second part never happened but she ad-libbed and it was very interesting.  I admired her!  All about how to pose/direct your model and create rather special portraits.  Not sure I believe her claim to manage the same techniques on a 6 month baby girl!

The second was also very good and also not as expected!  Drew Gardner on "Why Medium Format".  Brillant and as we left it was to go and buy a Fujifilm GFX 50S till Roland (phone in hand) told me they were in the £6,000s! 

I did end up buying a lens - well after the camera anything would appear cheap, wouldn't it!!

The pictures I took were awful!  low light and I didn't want to use flash so I ended up with too slow, too grainy and in some cases overexposed! !!!  Markus you would love some of the shots I ended up with!  I love the colour and in the case of the crowd exiting the exhibition, lots of motion!  So I shall add a couple in the extras !  I promise that they have all been well worked on!!! :)

A really good day!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.