Bluheron

By Bluheron

Going going gone...

The elk antlers came from the "lost 40," some property my family owned along the coast, the yellow wagon was a gift from my sister, the turquoise holds a back-yard hammock, the peach crates came from a long gone peach orchard, and so it goes with stuff. The stuff of life, the stuff in an old garage. The possums and rats who have made their home over the years. (I've been tending this property since 1977), have enjoyed the fruits of my garden or seeds and suet I may have been feeding birds. Dogs and cats and made their way through cracks and opening to sniff around the place. Probably the most unusual visitor to the garage (with its wooden plank floor made from the old growth forests of the Pacific Northwest) was the beaver, Martine, who had escaped the wooden pen my son had built for her (go figure!) and ended up in the pile of wood in the garage many years ago. We found her there after a frantic search around the block! The many adventures and misadventures in the old garage will fall away from memory when it comes down soon. I'll miss the white wall of it, which I see across the yard from my kitchen window.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.