Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Day 1 and toe accident

Bb took this just in the flat just before Nick and I left to start our new course as co-tutors in Cairo this morning. 10 mins later we were back in the flat again. A taxi driver had run over my toe!! I had put my bag in the back seat and he drove off while I was standing there, before I got in! After a sugary cup of tea for the shock I went into work. By lunchtime it was very swollen and the bruising (dark purple) was getting worse and it was pretty sore. By chance the BC Doctor was on duty and so I went off to show him. He said I should get it x-rayed. He was pretty sure it wasn't broken, but he wanted to be sure. Bb and I remembered reading something years ago about it being possible for this to happen and not break anything so long as you hadn't moved your foot. Off I went at the end of the day with Bb and Doaa (a colleague and friend) on my first and hopefully last Egyptian hospital visit. 2hrs later I'd been x-rayed and seen a Dr who looked at the x-ray and after examining my toe confirmed it wasn't broken, just badly bruised and swollen. (Total cost 500 Egyptian pounds, which is quite a lot in local money, but with the devaluation it's around 25 euros). He prescribed a cream for the bruising and anti-inflammatory sachet drinks (1 euro 50) and told me to keep it elevated when possible. 'Do you need time off work?' He asked. I'm sure he'd have given me a Dr's certificate for a week or more had I wanted. I didn't. I'll be careful and keep it elevated when I can in school. What a day!

Am sparing you a picture of said toe today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.