Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Preparing to leave?

I learned yesterday that the male swan on Blackford Pond had been found dead on the island on 7th March. That will be a huge loss to the pond - the swans are such a presence there and I love seeing the cygnets grow up each year. I went today to see the female swan and the two cygnets from last year who are still on the pond. The female swan flew the length of the pond and I wondered if she was preparing to move on. I do wonder what she is thinking and feeling at the moment. She spent some time on the island standing up but with her head under her wing, which isn't a normal posture for her. The two cygnets went around as a pair and for a while the female swan seemed to join them. Maybe the cygnets will stay now that there isn't a male swan to drive them away. One thing that seems clear is that there won't be a new family of cygnets this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.