stuartjross

By stuartjross

Caley at MGH

Last walk before dark. It was lashing rain as the last light of the day disappeared.
 A few minutes before taking this image I carelessly cut my hand on a twig. It stung like blazes and it took ages to stop bleeding.

I know this picture looks similar to many others taken at the same point but I did use a new bit of lighting kit to give the scene a lift. At less than £30 it is cheaper than nearly any flash unit. This multi LED lamp stays illuminated for as long as it is switched on (or until the battery goes flat) so there is no issue with remote triggers or flash syncing. This is my first try with it. The principle of flash to subject distance still applies so unless the lamp is very close to the subject you need a high ISO setting or a wide aperture or a relatively slow shutter speed.
I think it could work well with views toward a dark evening or morning sky or in conjunction with a conventional flash. It also seems to work well with the phone camera which otherwise has no ability to trigger a flash.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.