Mud

I woke up this morning in Weston-super-Mare. After last night's fog I was eagerly awaiting the blue sky and sunshine that we were promised would arrive soon after breakfast. It never came, at least not until I left at about 230pm!

I had a slow morning and then had a long walk along the beach after I'd checked out of the hotel. This town isn't nick-named 'Weston-super-mud' for nothing! The tide was out most of the day - and I mean REALLY out! The mud just about went all the way to the horizon. It was grey and windy and cold and despite being inappropriately dressed, I loved every minute of it! I also walked the length of the pier to have a look around. This is the new pier that opened in 2010 after the previous one had been completely destroyed by a fire in 2008. At the end of my long walk I treated myself to a well-deserved tea with scone and cream and jam. A couple of brave souls besides myself ate outside. I didn't mind the chill but the tea got cold quickly!

Extra photo:
The building with turrets is the hotel where I stayed (see yesterday's blip). The funny sign from the public toilets on the beach about not washing feet was only 1 out of 3 different ones saying more or less the same thing. One of the others however was particularly amusing: "please do not wash feet or children in the sinks!" It doesn't take much to amuse me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.