Sunrise on the day of the equinox

As well as the day of the autumn equinox (the vernal equinox in the northern hemisphere), today was the first day in my 15 month contract with ADHB. I arrived at what has been my usual time at North Shore Hospital, and was greeted by a view of the sun emerging over the top of the Auckland Museum. 

The day that followed involved meeting and talking with people with whom I will be working, and taking part in a number of business meetings. The job will entail a lot of meetings, and I have yet to sort out how and when I will be doing the clinical work they want me to do. I have a desk in a small bay within an open plan office area; Two others also have desks in this same area. It will certainly encourage finding work to do elsewhere!

Got home in time to see S before she went to her writing group. I then went out for a walk with my camera; to Grey Lynn Park, then up the hill to Ponsonby Road, and back along Great North Road. As soon as I started along GNR, I was hailed by a man who was under my care many years ago now. He is someone I regularly see in the area, and when we are close enough exchange a brief word of greeting. Today we were walking in the same direction, and he talked to me about a range of topics. 

The extra is a portrait of him in his jacket, with his name badge. The badge was the reason he wanted the jacket on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.