Quiche Lorraine

Donna Hay is a bit of a legend in Australia and well known for her culinary expertise and wonderful cook books.  The other day she was on breakfast television showing us how to cook a Quiche Lorraine ala Donna!  I was intrigued to watch her grating her pastry which had been in the refrigerator for a couple of hours.  I've never seen anyone grate pastry before, I thought you had to roll it out!  Well tonight I had a go myself and honestly I could not believe how easy it was.  

Once you've grated the pastry you just pile it all in the quiche pan and mould it into shape.  Now I can't remember the last time I made a quiche, it's been a long time because I couldn't find my quiche dish to cook it in.

We found a brand new design at the local kitchen shop which had hundreds of holes in the base and sides.  I can honestly say it was the best crisp and crunchy pastry that I have had for ages.  All in all, we both agreed it was a great success.

I'm a little behind with my blips due to pressing engagements over the past few days, but tonight I added my journal for Saturday which was an image of the Waratah Pods.  This is the same flower that I blipped back in October and November over an eight week period.  It is fascinating to see the end result and the fact that a new flower is just forming, starting the cycle all over again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.