Be Vewwy, Vewwy Quiet . . .

"Be vewwy, vewwy quiet! I'm hunting WABBITS!" - Elmer Fudd.

Overnight Saturday night, we got one of the prettiest little snows of the season. It might have been what they call an onion snow. Or perhaps a sapling bender. Whatever it should be called, I suspect it may have been one of the very last snows of the winter season. A nostalgic thought, that, as I do love a good snow . . .

We got maybe an inch or two at most, but it was so pretty around the yard and on the trees: white lace snow. I went out with my camera to document the event, and what did I discover but rabbit tracks! Lots and lots of them!

This was a very happy discovery, as it appears we may have several rabbits living on our property. It's even better news for my husband, as he has somehow become the nurturer and caretaker of rabbits in our yard. Some of you may remember those rabbit adventures - see here and here, for instance - with great glee, as do we.  :-)

We are friends of rabbits; yes, we are. And so, Mr. Fudd (of Bugs Bunny-chasing cartoon fame), there will be no hunting or shooting of rabbits in this yard, except via camera. Also: no chasing, harassing, or otherwise annoying the buns, kthx!

Everyone may be happy to hear, as I was, that in the wake of these discoveries, my husband has established several bunny feeding stations. Fresh, sliced carrots are made available there at regular intervals (and some have even been disappearing, or so I hear). Where there are bunny tracks, apparently, there is hope. . . .  :-)

The soundtrack: Burl Ives, with Mr. Rabbit. Also: the same tune, by Pete Seeger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.