Ferinus vis quod ignarus

By leecarson

Lockers

" Lining the otherwise bare corridor walls were boxes, lockers stacked higher than I could reach and extending far off into the distance.
"How many are there?" I asked.
"Well, how many people are there?" he replied.
"You mean there's one box for every person? Do I have one?"
"Of course!" he said with a laugh. "There."
Without a nod or a point, as far as I could notice, he simply looked past my shoulder and as I turned I could see immediately my locker, and my key. It was the same as the others but stood out to me as though in a spotlight. "Can I open it?"
"You're the only one who can. I suggest you don't, not yet anyway, but people usually ignore me when I advise that."
"What's inside?" as asked, but he'd turned his back and begun shuffling back towards the chair he'd been sitting in when I arrived. "

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.