Community

The theme for today's Mono Monday hosted by Skeena is Community.  I considered using Blipfoto as a prime example of community, though I suspect quite a few will use this.  So I thought of community facilities and chose our local library.  Public libraries have been around since the 1800s serving the local community in books and knowledge, and in more recent years including  audio, DVD, e-books and computers, the latter including public tuition and use.

Sadly many libraries are closing due to lack of council funding.  Stratford's library shown here is actually closed at the moment, but only for refurbishment; a temporary library has been set up in the arts centre until work is complete.

In Hull,  where I was born, I remember a new central library bring built.  At the time I could only join the junior library due to my age, I loved it there but couldn't wait until I was old enough to join the 'grown ups' library based in the new building.  We also had a great library in our secondary school; sometimes I'd bunk off PE and ensconce myself in there.,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.