Winsford

By Winsford

Turning back time ...

Today is my Dad's 80th birthday. For his 75th I wrote up an account of our branch of family tree which I had researched, starting with tale of Robert the Dockgate Man.

Many interesting finds were made along the way - including that my dad's  3rd great grandfather  was born in Leuchars just a few miles away from where my dad was born and whose brother was baptised in the same year in the same church as one of my mother's direct ancestors. Another (at least to me) was that  my 5th great grandfather came from Inveresk near Musselburgh not far to where I now live. 

My research also lead me to distant cousins around the world including descendants of Robert the Dockgate man's brother David in South Africa.

We had a big family party for his 70th and for 80th he and his now wife are enjoying a series of celebrations with family and friends in different locations at home and abroad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.