BellesMa

By BellesMa

Ballerina

This is one of 100 mini biographies in a book that arrived in the post today. It's from Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls, which I've got for Wee B's birthday in April.
Alicia Alonso was a Cuban ballerina who lost most of her sight due to a childhood illness. She went on to become the prima ballerina at the New York City Ballet and establish her own dance school. She had a very unique, graceful style and must have worked hard to overcome the difficulties her sight presented her with.

Here is a clip of her as the Black Swan in Swan Lake.
https://youtu.be/krcmx4vdeTU

Edit: I was a bit impatient when uploading my extra picture, which is the front cover of the book, and I ended up adding it twice! Now I can't work out how to delete one of them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.