Sea Aster Mining Bee (Colletes halophilus)

My blip looks ghostly because it represents a dream I had last night. I dreamt I had found a bee which a man then told me was an Aster bee, and that it acted as a sentinel bee for honey bees. The weird thing is I have never heard of Aster bees or knew what sentinel bees were. Indeed, I very rarely remember my dreams.  This one was so vivid that I had to google Aster bee, not for one moment thinking there would be such a bee, or a sentinel bee. I found that the Sea Aster mining bee (Colletes halophilus) is a bee inhabiting East Anglian grasslands and sand dunes, and is named after the pollen of the Sea Aster (Aster tripolium) which is its favourite food.  Sentinel bees guard the door of a honey bee’s hive to keep out enemies, and can kill by stinging intruders even as large as mice or snails.  There is nothing on the Web to note that Sea Aster bees act as sentinel bees though.  My blip is of a drawing in my Larouse Wildlife Pocket Guide  -  I don't think it's a bee. You can read about Sea Aster bees HERE!  I am left wondering what my dream predicts! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.