Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Project

When I first moved down to Bradford I availed myself of every opportunity to peer out of windows as I started to make sense of my new surroundings. During a break at a new staff induction event I drifted toward the window, preferring gazing to small talk, yet fell into conversation with a fellow window gazer who it transpired was a proper photographer, Charlie. Charlie told me about the Bradford Grid Project but modestly neglected to mention that he'd shot a Joy Division sleeve. I shared my own amateur enthusiasm and suggested that a project could be made from all of the different views out of the city that were afforded from the variously elevated and oriented stairwells, offices and classrooms in our new place of work. Charlie was kind enough to agree.

Five years later I started this journal and unwittingly set about my mooted project, woven in with around fifty other loose projects and themes that sit within and outside of this space. That is, every so often, I find myself in another corner of a campus building admiring the view and taking a picture which sometimes emerges as a blip.

Today was one of those days, and this was one of those views, a product of the dwell time spent waiting to observe a class on the mathematics of diffuse lighting in rendering. We're looking west over Bombay Stores with the Ovendon Moor wind farm on the horizon and just a hint of the morning's wintry showers on the moor.

To complete the circle, half a minute after I took this picture, Charlie walked past and said hello, thus reminding me of the time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.