Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

It's cello time!

Today's blip photo is a far cry from the breathtaking panoramas that have been bombarding my eyes over the last few days, but it's what lies before me now - - practice!

My cello (above) is a Jay Haide L'Ancienne model, with a Strad body. The narrower Strad body provides for a very rich, yet bright sound, versus a wider Montagna body, which typically puts out a louder, darker sound.

I can still remember the day I walked into Olsen Violins (on 3rd Ave, NW in Seattle), like a kid in a candy shop, gawking at all the instruments. Sten Olsen, who was busy practicing his golf putting in the back of the store, quickly set me up with several instruments and bows to try out. The moment I first drew a bow across its strings, I knew I was in love with the Strad model. However, with Sten's advice, I went home with not one, but two cellos, plus a case full of bows to test out. "Take all the time you need.", he cried, as I pulled away from his shop, my car loaded up with these big, beefy instruments.

As if having two fine instruments in my possession was not enough, Sten's wife, Nita, stopped by my house, about one week later, with yet another cello for me to try. In the end, I purchased my first love, the Strad, and have no regrets.

Now, with my fall musical activities ramping up again, (including participation in an adult community orchestra) I'll need to spend much more time (happily) with my arms around my baby!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.