heads or tails

There’s a letter waiting when we get home on Monday evening.  Oxford have booked me in for another ablation on April 6th.  I knew this moment would come and I’d have to decide what to do about it.  But not just yet.  

I haven’t had an episode of Atrial Fibrillation since Christmas.  Or rather, not one I’ve been aware of.  Do I go ahead or do I cancel it?

If I cancel and it comes back, I go to the back of the queue.  On the other hand there’s not point in having an unnecessary operation.  Especially as there is a queue of people waiting.

I toss a coin and then ignore the outcome - there’s no point in having the ablation at the moment.  I take the chance that it’s under control.  Especially as I have my own ECG device and can monitor my heart at anytime.

But I need to confirm that this OK with Oxford.  Manage to get hold of the consultant this morning and he agrees that postponing it makes sense.  He’ll see me again in August.  Unless the Gods of Arrhythmia kick off again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.